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FOR ATHLETES

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs
� 3600 Forest Drive Suite 300 Columbia SC 29204 � e-mail:
scdca@dca.state.sc.us � 803.734.4200 or toll free statewide:

1.800.922.1594 � website:  www.scconsumer.gov

 
 

Under South Carolina law, Athlete Agents recruiting or
soliciting a student athlete must register with the South
Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA).
This law provides guidelines agents must follow and gives
rights to the student athletes they contact.

• Athlete Agents must register with SCDCA every
two years.  If an Athlete Agent enters into a
contract without registering, the contract is void.

• The Athlete Agent may not contact athletes until
they register, but the student can make the first
contact with the Agent.  If the student initiates
the communication, the agent must register within
seven days after acting as an “Agent.”

• A list of registered Athlete Agents is available at
SCDCA’s website at www.scconsumer.gov.

• Give anything of value (i.e.: gifts, trips, etc.)
before a contract is signed;

• Predate or postdate a contract; or
• Mislead or make any false promises.

• If you have an athletic director, you must tell them
you have signed a contract with an Athlete Agent.

• If the contract does not contain the required items,
you can void the contract.

If you decide to enter into a contract with an Athlete
Agent, it must contain:

o The amount of money you will pay the Agent
under the contract;

o Anything the Agent will receive from
someone else because you entered into the
contract;

o A description of any expenses you will
reimburse the Agent;

o A description of what services the Agent will
provide you;

o The date you entered into the contract; and
o How long the contract will last.

Once signed, the Athlete Agent must give you a copy of the
contract

The contract must also warn that if you sign the
contract:

(1) You may lose your eligibility to compete as a
student athlete in your sport;

(2) If you have an athletic director, you and the
athlete agent must notify your athlete director
within 72 hours after entering into this contract;
and

(3) You may cancel the contract within 14 days
after signing it.  **Cancellation of the contract may
not reinstate eligibility.
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Athlete Agents
What You Need To Know About

To find out if an Athlete Agent is registered or
if you have any questions call:

Legal Division
(803) 734-4236

To file a complaint against an Athlete Agent call:
Complaint Services

(803) 734-4200 or in S.C. (800) 922-1594


