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Under South Carolina law, Athlete Agents recruiting or
soliciting a student athlete must register with the South
Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA).
This law provides guidelines agents must follow and
gives rights to the student athletes they contact.

Registration

[1 Athlete Agents must register with SCDCA every two
years. If an Athlete Agent enters into a contract
without registering, the contract is void.

[1 The Athlete Agent may not contact athletes until they
register, but the student can make the first contact
with the Agent. If the student initiates the
communication, the agent must register within seven
days after acting as an “Agent.”

[0 A list of registered Athlete Agents is available at
SCDCA’s website at www.scconsumer.gov.

Athlete Agents CANNOT:

[1 Give anything of value (i.e.: gifts, trips, etc.)
before a contract is signed,;

[ Predate or postdate a contract; or

[1 Mislead or make any false promises.

Your Duty & Rights

[ If you have an athletic director, you must tell them
you have signed a contract with an Athlete Agent.

[ If the contract does not contain the required items, you
can void the contract.

The Contract

If you decide to enter into a contract with an Athlete
Agent, it must contain:

o The amount of money you will pay the Agent
under the contract;

o Anything the Agent will receive from
someone else because you entered into the
contract;

o A description of any expenses you will
reimburse the Agent;

o A description of what services the Agent will
provide you;

o The date you entered into the contract; and

o How long the contract will last.

Once signed, the Athlete Agent must give you a copy of the

contract

Warning

The contract must also warn that if you sign the
contract:

(1) You may lose your eligibility to compete as a
student athlete in your sport;

(2) If you have an athletic director, you and the
athlete agent must notify your athlete director within
72 hours after entering into this contract; and

(3) You may cancel the contract within 14 days
after signing it. **Cancellation of the contract may
not reinstate eligibility.

Contact Information

To find out if an Athlete Agent is registered or if
you have any questions call:
James C. Copeland
(803) 734-0375

To file a complaint against an Athlete Agent call:
Complaint Services
(803) 734-4200 or in S.C. (800) 922-1594

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs
2221 Devine Street, Ste. 200, P.O. Box 5757, Columbia,
¥ SC, 29250- Phone: (803) 734-4200 — Fax: (803) 734-4299



