
Maximum Interest Rates 
in South Carolina 

 
If you impose a finance charge in excess of 18% on consumer credit and have not filed this 

form and posted your maximum interest rates in your place of business, you may be in 

VIOLATION of the South Carolina Consumer Protection Code - §37-2-305 and §37-3-

305. 

 
                  (Replica of form)  

                     

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA) 

Maximum Rate Schedule 
Certification Date: 

ABC Company  
123 Main St.  

  Anywhere, USA 12345 
 
Consumers: All creditors making consumer credit sales in South Carolina are required by law to post a 
schedule showing the maximum rate of CREDIT SERVICE CHARGES expressed as the FINANCE 

CHARGE stated as ANNUAL PERCENTAGE RATES (APR) that the creditor intends to charge for various 
types of consumer credit transactions. The purpose of this requirement is to assist you in comparing the 
maximum rates that creditors charge, thereby furthering your understanding of the terms of consumer credit 
transactions and helping you to avoid the uninformed use of credit.  
 
NOTE: Creditors are prohibited from granting consumer credit at rates higher than those specified below. 
However, a creditor may be willing to grant you credit at rates that are lower than those specified, depending on 
the amount, terms, collateral and your credit worthiness.  

         Maximum A.P.R. 

              For Fixed Rate 

Category                  Description                              Credit Sales  Notes 

Unsecured Credit Sales/           New/Used Cars                      39%  
Secured Credit Sales, Non-Real Estate 

 
All businesses that impose a finance charge on Credit Sales or Consumer Loans in excess of 
18% (APR) are required to FILE with SCDCA and POST a Maximum Rate Schedule by 
January 31 of each year. Penalties: Failure to file and post may result in the rollback of all 
contracts to 18% and the refunding of excess finance charges to consumers, or a Civil Fine may 
be assessed up to $5,000 under S.C. Code Ann. (§§37-2-201 and 37-3-201). 
 
All businesses that extend credit to consumers and have gross sales that exceed $150,000 are 
required to file a Consumer Credit Grantor Notification by January 31 of each year with the 
South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (§37-6-202). Penalties: Penalties are assessed 
by the length of delinquency [S.C. Code Ann. (R28-30)], or for willful/repeated violators, a 
civil fine can be assessed [S.C. Code Ann. (R28-30)]. 

     Partners 
    To file and pay online: go to www.scbos.com.     
       For more information: visit www.scconsumer.gov and click on licensing, registrations & filings. 

South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs 
PO Box 5246 

Columbia, SC 29250-5246 
803.734.4253 

Cost of this poster funded by the South Carolina Automobile Dealers Association 


