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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
Initial Motor Vehicle Dealer Closing Fee Filing 
S.C. Code Ann. § 37-2-307 et seq. (Supp. 2009)  

www.consumer.sc.gov 
803-734-4238/800-922-1594 

 

 
NOTE:  THIS ORIGINAL FORM MUST ACCOMPANY A $10.00 FILING FEE 

 

Company Name:        Federal ID No.       

D/B/A (In S.C.)        SSN (Sole Proprietor Only)     -    -      

Address        Registration No.       

City, State Zip        Contact Person       

   Telephone No. (   )     -      

 
 

Disclosure of Closing Fees Notice 
 

This dealership charges closing fees on a motor vehicle sales contract.  It is a charge that is 

permitted but not required by law (Section 37-2-307).  The full cash price charged at any 

dealership depends on many factors, including all products and services bought with the 

vehicle.   

 

The closing fee charged by 

 

Dealer Name        Mailing Address       

Physical Address               

City, State Zip                   E-Mail Address        

     

     

    Will you charge an Annual Percentage Rate  

Will not exceed $          of more than 18%?     Yes      No 

      
Filing expires June 30, 2016     
    Signature 

          

     Name of Officer (Typed) 

           

          Title 

Date      
  

  
  

 
The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act may 
require the Department to release a copy of your 
filing as a public record.  Personal identifying 

information will be released only if required by law.   

 

  
  

 (Display in a conspicuous location of dealership) For Department’s Use 

 
  

Mailing Address 
Registered Creditors  
P.O. Box 5246 
Columbia, SC 29250-5246 

Street Address 
2221 Devine Street, Suite 200 

Columbia, SC 29208-2418 
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Instructions 

  

1. Please complete the disclosure of closing fees notice, if your dealership intends to charge 

closing fees on motor vehicle sales. Submit the original filing form and a $10.00 check or 

money order, payable to the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA), 

PO Box 5246, Columbia SC 29250, Attn: Legal Division-Registered Creditors. See 

Administrative Interpretation summary below. 

2. The legal division must receive the original filing and filing fee before dealers can charge 

this closing fee to consumers. Renewals may be made at any time during the fiscal year, 

the department’s renewal season runs from November 1 through January 31 of each 

year. Dealers are required to file a new disclosure form and submit an additional $10.00 

filing fee anytime the dealership increases the closing fee amount. 

3. Please call the Legal Division at (803) 734-4238 with any questions. 

  

 

  
 

  

  

  

                                       Administrative Interpretation 2.307-0101 

  

The assessment of a “closing” or “documentation” fee (also occasionally denominated as an 

“administrative,” “processing,” or “procurement” fee) in a consumer credit sale of a motor 

vehicle is dependent on four factors: 

  

1. The dealer must pay the department a $10.00 filing fee each state fiscal year prior to the 

assessment of a closing fee; 

2. The existence of a closing fee must be disclosed on the sales contract; 

3. The closing fee must be disclosed as a statement conspicuously located in the dealership; 

4. The closing fee must be included in the advertised price, for advertised vehicles, if a 

closing fee is charged. 

  

A closing fee may only be assessed once these factors are met and the dealership has in its 

possession a SCDCA certified, date stamped copy of its disclosure. The charging of “closing,” 

“documentation,” or similar fees in connection with a consumer credit sale of a motor vehicle in 

the absence of any of these requirements constitutes the charging of an excess charge for 

Consumer Protection Code purposes.  

  

ONLINE FILING WITH SOUTH CAROLINA BUSINESS ONE STOP(SCBOS) 

 

Online Filing is a simple process that offers immediate confirmation that your filings have been 

received by SCDCA, reduced data input time and an official receipt that can be used in the 

interim before certificates arrive via electronic mail. 

    Go to www.scbos.sc.gov and click on the log in icon at the top right corner or from our 

website www.consumer.sc.gov , click the SCBOS icon on the right hand side under “Links and 

Helpful Tips” 
 

 

http://www.scbos.sc.gov/
http://www.consumer.sc.gov/

