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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
  DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS  

INITIAL APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY 
PHYSICAL FITNESS SERVICES 

US.C. Code AnnU. §§ 44-79-10 UetU UseqU. (Supp. 1997)  
HUwww.consumer.sc.govUH  

 
 

 

PLEASE READ APPLICATION* AND INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY 
*Application requires a notarized signature. 

(INCOMPLETE OR ILLEGIBLE INFORMATION COULD RESULT IN THE DELAY OF YOUR APPLICATION) 

 
PHYSICAL FITNESS SERVICES 
“Physical fitness services” means facilities or services for the development of physical fitness 
through exercise or weight control.  The term includes the facilities and services of health or 
exercise centers, clubs, studios, or classes; health spas, weight control centers, clinics, or 
studios; figure salons, tanning centers; and athletic or sports clubs which provide tennis, 
racquet or handball courts, gymnasiums, or swimming pools. It does not include 
rehabilitative therapy administered by a licensed physical therapist.   
  
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY: 
All organizations providing physical fitness services in this State must first obtain a Certificate 
of Authority from the Administrator of the S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs.   
 
Initial filing applications must include the following: 

 * Copy of the most recent membership agreement (if any); 
* Copy of contract(s) to be used (if any);  
* Surety bond or letter of credit (if financial responsibility required); 
* If a corporation or LLC, certified copy of Certificate of Existence from the Secretary of 

State of South Carolina and copy of Articles of Incorporation/Organization; (Copies may 
be obtained by contacting the Secretary of State’s offic at (803) 734-2158 or 
www.scsos.com.)   

* Copy of rate sheet/price schedule for all physical fitness services offered; 
* Certificate of Authority application fee - $50 per location 

  
CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS: 
If you use a prepaid or credit contract, that contract must conform to the requirements set 
by state law (S.C. Code Ann. §44-79-30, §44-79-40, §44-79-50). Contracts not meeting 
these requirements will result in the return of your application. A copy of these requirements 
is enclosed for your reference (Page 5). 

  
INITIAL FILING FEE: 
This application must be accompanied by an initial Certificate of Authority fee in the amount 
of $50.00 per location. Failure to remit the appropriate fee(s) will result in the return of your 
application.  Make checks payable to South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs.   

  
QUESTIONS: 
If you need assistance with completing this application form or have questions about the 
Physical Fitness Services Act (§44-79-10 et. seq.), please contact the SC Department of 
Consumer Affairs. 
 
Matalie L. Mickens, Program Coordinator: 803-734-4291, mmickens@scconsumer.gov 
Martha S. Phillips, Staff Attorney:  803-734-4241, mphillips@scconsumer.gov  

  
SEND COMPLETED APPLICATION AND PAYMENT TO: 
South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs - Physical Fitness Services 
P.O. Box 5757, Columbia, S.C. 29250-5757 
 

 

Mailing Address 
P.O. Box 5757 
Columbia, SC 29250-5757 

Street Address 
2221 Devine Street, Ste 200 

Columbia, SC 29205-2418 

http://www.scconsumer.gov/
http://www.scsos.com/
mailto:mmickens@scconsumer.gov
mailto:mphillips@scconsumer.gov
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
  DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS  

INITIAL APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY 
PHYSICAL FITNESS SERVICES 

US.C. Code AnnU. §§ 44-79-10 UetU UseqU. (Supp. 1997)  
HUwww.consumer.sc.govUH  

 
 

 
  For Department Use Only 

                        Provide All Information Requested Below  

  Filing Year  

A.     GENERAL BUSINESS INFORMATION  

  

1. Corporate Name      

 
 3. Type of Business  

     (check one): 

2. DBA      Corporation    

   Limited Liability Comp.   

4. Physical Address      Sole Ownership    
 (Street Address) 

                

 (City) (State)  (Zip) 

    

5. Mailing Address      

 (Street Address) 

                    

 (City)   (State)        (Zip) 

  

6. Telephone No. (   )    -     7. Website      

    

8. Name of Contact 
Person at Business 

     

   
9. E-Mail Address      

 
10. List the names of all owners, partners, members, and directors of the applicant.  

Name Title Date of Birth 
(if sole proprietor 
or partnership) 

Social Security Number 
(if sole proprietor or 

partnership) 

                    

                    

                    

   

11. List all South Carolina physical fitness center locations. (Attach Additional Page(s) as Necessary)   
NOTE: The filing fee is $50 per location. 

Address Phone Number Manager 

     

 

(   )    -          

     
 

(   )    -          

     
 

(   )    -          

   

 12. List Types of Services and/or Facilities Offered: 
(List as many as apply – exercise center, weight loss, tanning, martial arts, fitness center, athletic club, personal training, 

dance fitness classes, etc.) 

 

    

         

         

Mailing Address 
P.O. Box 5757 
Columbia, SC 29250-5757 

Street Address 
2221 Devine Street, Ste 200 

Columbia, SC 29205-2418 

http://www.scconsumer.gov/
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B. BACKGROUND QUESTIONS.  Answer each question below. YES NO 

 
1. Did you begin providing physical fitness services in South Carolina after June 24, 1980?    
    

2. Do you use prepaid or credit contracts that run for more than three months?    

    
3.   Do you use prepaid or credit contracts having a total cost of more than $200?    
    
4. If you are a personal trainer, do you use prepaid or credit contracts having a total cost of more 

than three hundred ($300) dollars?  
   

 

    
5. If you answered “yes” to Question 1, 2, or 3 above, will your gross business receipts exceed 

$150,000 this calendar year?  (Gross volume is the amount reported to the IRS) 
    

    
6. Do you assign, discount or sell contracts to third parties?     
    
7. Enter the number of members that are currently enrolled (or are expected to enroll) at the 

location(s) listed above.   
 

      

    
8. How many physical fitness services locations do you have in this State? (All locations must be 

listed in this application.)  

 

     

   
9. Did you answer “yes” to Question 2 (contracts longer than 3 months), or Question 3 (contracts 

more than $200)?       
 (If your answer to this question is “yes” you are required by law to demonstrate financial 

responsibility.  If you answered “no” proceed to Line 12.)   
 

   
   
10. Which method of demonstrating financial responsibility do you use? (check one)       Surety Bond  

 
                                                                                                                                  Letter of Credit     

    
 

   
11. Place a checkmark next to the category below which describes your center and required amount of assurance 

(either surety bond or letter of credit).   
  

 Financial Responsibility (Bond or Letter of Credit) Assurance Amounts   

    

 Number of Members Assurance Amount Check One  

 1,500 or more $50,000   
 1,000 to 1,499 Members $40,000   
 500 – 999 Members $30,000   
 100 - 499 Members $20,000   
 1 - 99 Members $10,000   
     
12. Multiply the number which appears on Line 8 by $50.00. This is the filing fee you owe: 

(Make checks payable to SC Department of Consumer Affairs) 
________ 

   
13. Has the applicant or any owner, member, officer, or director of the applicant ever previously 

applied for a Physical Fitness Certificate of Authority as part of another business affiliation? If yes, 
attach details of the filing application.   

 
 

 
 

   

14. Has the applicant or any owner, member, officer, or director of the applicant ever been refused a 
license to engage in any business or had any license suspended or revoked by any state or federal 
agency?   If yes, attach complete details of the refusal, suspension, or revocation.   

 
 

 
 

   
15. Has any state or federal agency ever initiated an administrative or regulatory proceeding or action 

or entered an order against the applicant or any owner, member, officer or director of the 
applicant?  If yes, attach complete details of the event.   

 
 

 
 

     

(SIGNATURE ON NEXT PAGE)  
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(REMANINDER OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The undersigned swears or affirms and certifies that he/she has completed and/or reviewed all information in this 
application and that all information contained herein and in all addending and supplemental forms is true and 
accurate.  The undersigned further certifies that giving false information constitutes cause for denial or revocation 
of the application or license and subjects him/her to criminal prosecution for perjury.  The undersigned 
acknowledges the duty and agrees to update and correct this information as it changes.  The 

undersigned warrants that his or her signature below is duly authorized and delivered by and for the entity for 
which s/he signs. 
 

 

               

Signature of Owner, Partner, Member, Officer, or 
Director 
 
 

   Type or Print your name  

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me 
this ______ day of ____________________, 20____ 
 
_________________________________________ 
Notary Signature 

  

Notary Public For ___________________________ 
 
My Commission Expires:______________________ 
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PHYSICAL FITNESS CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS 
§44-79-30. Credit contract requirements 
 

 (A) Every prepaid or credit contract for physical fitness services of over three month’s duration or over two hundred dollars in 
amount must conform to the following requirements: 

   

  (1) The contract must be in writing, and a copy must be given to the customer at the time he signs it; 
    

  (2) the contract shall state clearly the street address or location of the center and outlets which the member may use 
at the time the contract is executed and the major facilities or major services which each offers; 

    

  (3) The contract shall reveal the finance charge, if any, which the member agrees to pay; 
    

  (4) if the customer executes a promissory note in connection with the contract, the contract shall clearly indicate 
whether the promissory note is assignable paper and whether it may be discounted and sold to third parties. 
Assignment of the promissory note does not affect the right of the member to cancel the contract or the method 
by which the cancellation may be made; 

    

  (5) The contract must contain a right to cancel provision in the following language:  

    “CUSTOMER’S RIGHT TO CANCEL”  
   (a) You may cancel this contract by sending notice of your wish to cancel to the center before midnight of the 

third business day after you sign the contract. 'Business day' means Monday through Friday excluding state 
holidays and federal holidays. This notice must be sent certified mail to the following: 

      

    (Business name and address)  
      

    Within thirty days of receipt of this notice, the center shall return any payments made and any note or 
other evidence of indebtedness. If you use the seller’s facilities or services, the center may charge you a 
reasonable fee based on days of actual use. 

     

   (b) In addition, you or your estate may also cancel the contract at any time by written notice to the center at 
the above address if the following circumstances occur: 

     

    (1) the customer’s death; 
    (2) substantial physical disability, certified by a physician, which makes it permanently impossible for 

the customer to use the center’s services. 
    (3) the customer’s permanent relocation to a residence over fifty miles distant from an outlet operated 

by the center, if the center is unable to arrange for the customer’s use of another center with 
equivalent major facilities and services. 

  The center may require presentation of information to substantiate that one of these circumstances has occurred. 
      

  If the contract is cancelled because of disability, death, or permanent change of residence, the center shall return any 
note or other evidence of indebtedness and unearned prepayments as follows: For each month that the contract was in 
effect, the center is entitled to the rate a month or a treatment which it would have charged if the contract had initially 
been one for the number of months or the number of treatments for which the contract was actually in effect. The rate is 
to be determined from a fee schedule in effect on the date of the contract. 

      

   (c) The right of cancellation shall affect only the financial obligations under the contract and customer’s right to use 
the center’s physical fitness services. 

      
  (6) Services such as personal training, personal fitness testing, and daily visitor fees that are not subject to being 

refunded must be clearly stated in the contract. 

  

      

  (7) Any contractual provision allowing more liberal rights of cancellation than set forth in this chapter may be 
substituted for the notice required in this chapter. 

      
 (B) A contract is not required for personal training, private consultations, and fitness testing rendered on an hourly basis unless 

they are part of a package of over three hundred dollars. 
      

§44-79-40. Prohibited contractual provisions.   
  

 No contract for physical fitness services may: 
      

  (1) have a duration of longer than twenty-four months or be measured by the life of the buyer, the life of the center, 
or any similar indefinite term; provided, however, if a center demonstrates financial responsibility to the 
administrator of the Department of Consumer Affairs and has been in operation for five or more years in this 
State, it may offer contracts for physical fitness services for a period of up to thirty-six months if approved in 
writing by the administrator; 

      

  (2) waive the required provisions of this chapter; 
      

  (3) provide that a right of action or defense of the member may be cut off by assignment of the contract to a third person. 
      

§44-79-50. Unenforceability of prohibited contractual provisions. 
      

 Any provision of any contract for physical fitness services which does not comply with this chapter is unenforceable against the 
member. 
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Bond No.__________________ 
 

SPECIAL DEPOSIT BOND 
 
State of ____________________, 
 
 KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS.  That the undersigned ______________________ 
as principal of __________________________ and the undersigned ______________________ 
as surety, of ________________________ are firmly held and bound unto the Administrator of 
the Department of Consumer Affairs of the State of South Carolina in full and just sum of 
_____________ dollars, to which payment we bind ourselves and our respective successors and 
assigns jointly and severally. 
 
 Sealed with our seals and dated at ____________________ this __________ day of 
______________ in the year of our Lord, two thousand and ________________. 
 
 WHEREAS, Section 44-79-80 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976 as amended, 
requires that a physical fitness center deposit and thereafter continuously maintain a bond in an 
amount determined by the Administrator.  The bond is to be executed by a surety company 
authorized by the laws of this State to transact business in South Carolina and must be for the 
use of the State as well as any member that may have a cause of action against the physical 
fitness services center. 
 
 AND WHEREAS, the undersigned principal ________________________ aforesaid, 
desires to transact business within the State of South Carolina in accordance with the terms of its 
laws and to deposit with the Administrator a good and solvent bond in the sum of 
_____________________ dollars, does by this instrument furnish that bond. 
 
 NOW, THEREFORE, the condition of this bond is such that if the above principal has failed 
to comply with the S.C. Physical Fitness Services Act, S.C. Code § 44-79-10, et seq. (LAW CO-OP 
1986) or has failed to provide contracted for physical fitness services to customers as determined 
by the Administrator after notice and opportunity for hearing, then we the Beneficiary (South 
Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs) are entitled to the sum of ________________. 
 
 PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that liability hereunder may be terminated either (a) by written 
notice, from the surety to the Administrator, that liability shall terminate upon the expiration of 
forty-five (45) days from the date of such notice, or (b) upon written authorization mailed to the 
surety by the Administrator. 
 
 IN, WITNESS where of the principal and surety have set their hand and affixed their seals 
in the manner and form following: 
 
In presence of witness as to principal:    Name of principal: 
______________________________    ______________________________ 
 
______________________________    By:  __________________________ 
               (President (Officer) 
 
In the presence of witness as to Surety:     Name of Surety: 
_____________________________     ______________________________ 
 
_____________________________     By:  __________________________ 
                (President (Officer) 
 

EXECUTION BY PRINCIPAL AND SURETY MUST BE PROBATED ON REVERSE SIDE 
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WITNESS AS TO PRINCIPAL 
 

STATE OF _______________________, 
 
________________________ COUNTY. 
 
 

Before me, the subscribing Notary Public, personally appeared ________________________________ 
                  Witness number one (see front of bond) 
and made oath that he/she saw the within named ________________________________________________  
 
Company, represented by ______________________________________________ sign, seal, and deliver the  
 
within Bond, and that he/she with __________________________________ subscribed their names as  
          Witness number two (see front of bond) 
witness thereto. 
 

 
______________________________________________ 
To be signed by witness one or two (see front of bond) 

 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before 
me this _____ day of __________ A.D., 20_______. 
 
 
______________________________________(L.S.) 
 
My Commission Expires: ______________________ 
 
 

WITNESS AS TO SURETY 
 
STATE OF __________________________, 
 
____________________________COUNTY. 

 
Before me, the subscribing Notary Public, personally appeared ________________________________ 

                   Witness number two (see front of bond) 
and made oath that he/she saw the within named ________________________________________________  
 
Company represented by _________________________________________ sign, seal, and deliver the within  
 
Bond, and that he/she with _______________________________ subscribed their names as witness thereto: 
          Witness number two (see front of bond) 
 
 
 
       ____________________________________________ 
       To be signed by witness one or two (see front of bond) 
 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before 
me this _____ day of __________ A.D., 20_______. 
  
 
______________________________________(L.S.) 
 
My Commission Expires: ______________________ 
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PHYSICAL FITNESS SERVICES 

IRREVOCABLE DOCUMENTARY LETTER OF CREDIT 
MODEL FORM 

   
(Bank Name and Address on Bank Letterhead) 

   
 Applicant: (Applicant Name) 
  (Applicant Address) 
   
 Beneficiary: South Carolina Department of 

Consumer Affairs 
  2221 Devine Street, Suite 200 
  P.O. Box 5757 
  Columbia, SC 29250 
   
 Letter of Credit No.   

   
 Expiration Date:   

   
 
Dear Sir: 
 

We hereby issue this documentary letter of credit in your favor which is available against  beneficiary’s 
draft at sight drawn on            (bank name)                      , bearing the clause “drawn under documentary 
letter of credit number _________________________ accompanied by the following documents: 
 
 1. Beneficiary’s signed statement addressed to the applicant, stating:      (applicant’s name)      
has failed to comply with the S.C. Physical Fitness Services Act, S.C. Code § 44-79-10 et seq. (LAW CO-OP 
1986) or has failed to provide contracted for physical fitness services to customers as determined by the 
Administrator after notice and opportunity for hearing.  We are therefore entitled to the sum of $ 
____________________ drawn under letter of credit number ________________________,  Or 
 
 2. Beneficiary’s signed statement addressed to the applicants stating that      (applicant’s name)    
  has not replaced this letter of credit number ____________  with another letter of credit or other evidence of 
financial responsibility acceptable to the Administrator within 45 days of the expiration date of the credit, and 
we are therefore entitled to the sum of $__________________ drawn under letter of credit number 
____________________.” 
 
 
 
 
 ______________________________    
(Signature of authorized bank officer) 
(Title) 
 

 


