Skip Navigation

PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS

On July 1, 2006, the regulation of Preneed Funeral Contracts was transferred to the Department. The law requires that a funeral home be licensed to sell Preneed Funeral Contracts.  All monies received for a Preneed Funeral Contract must be deposited into a trust account or burial insurance policy.  Each Preneed Funeral Contract must be submitted to the Department accompanied by a $20 filing fee, part of which goes into the loss reimbursement fund.

There is an Initial/New Preneed Funeral Contracts Licensing fee of $250 and a renewal fee of $200.  The Preneed Funeral Contracts License must be renewed by September 30th of every odd-numbered year.

 

**NOTICE**

In the 2012 session, the General Assembly amended the Preneed Funeral Contract Law.

Please click here for additional information.

Law

Opinions

Licensed Providers

  Licensing Instructions and Forms

Approved Contracts

  • Guaranteed Price Contract (PDF
  • Non-Guaranteed Price Contract (PDF 

Reports

  • Reports for Trust Accounts (PDF)
  • Reports for Insurance Policies (PDF

 
Review Checklist

Disclosures and Other Forms

Disciplinary Actions

 

 

 

(PDF) Requires Free Adobe Reader 5.0 Or Later / (Word) Requires Microsoft Word Viewer

 

 

Contact Information 

Matalie L. Mickens
Program Coordinator
(803) 734-4291

Tiffany D. Gibson
Staff Attorney
(803) 734-0047

Fax: (803) 734-4229

Toll Free (in SC):
(800) 922-1594 

 Consumer Information

Loss Reimbursement Fund Application (PDF)

 Press Releases

Preneed Contracts Overview

Norton Funeral Home

Cave Funeral Home Closing

 Links

South Carolina Board of Funeral Service 

South Carolina Board of Funeral Service

Federal Trace Commission
(FTC)

 

South Carolina Department of Insurance 

South Carolina Department of Insurance

South Carolina Funeral Directors Association

South Carolina Funeral Directors Association

 South Carolina Morticians Association

South Carolina Morticians Association