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Legislative Update: Motor Vehicle Closing Fee Law Amendments  

 

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA) is 

announcing amendments to the motor vehicle closing fee law.  

 

Under the new law, closing fees in the amount of $225 or less are automatically considered 

reasonable and are not subject to further review by the Department. Closing fees in excess of 

$225 are subject to review by the Department for reasonableness. Consumers should note that 

dealers are not required to charge this fee, but are permitted to under the law.  

 

All motor vehicle dealers charging closing fees on a motor vehicle sales contract have until July 

3, 2016 to comply with recent amendments to the closing fee law.  Any dealer who filed a 

closing fee this year and wishes to continue to charge such a fee after July 3rd must submit a 

renewal Motor Vehicle Filing Form along with a ten dollar filing fee to the Department before 

the deadline. The requirement to include the closing fee in the advertised price, disclose it on a 

sales contract and display it in a conspicuous location in the dealership remains unchanged. 

 

Updated filing forms are available on the Department’s website. Access the forms by visiting 

www.consumer.sc.gov  and clicking “Business/ Industry Information,” then “Motor Vehicle 

Dealer Closing Fees.” 

 

About SCDCA 

The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs aims to protect consumers from inequities 

in the marketplace through advocacy, complaint mediation, enforcement and education. To file a 

complaint or get information on consumer issues, visit www.consumer.sc.gov or call toll-free, 1-

800-922-1594. 
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