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 (THE SOUTH CAROLINA HIGH COST AND

CONSUMER HOME LOAN ACT)
There was strong evidence in South Carolina that there were some subprime lenders routinely
targeting families who could least afford high cost home loans.  A number of these homeowners
were elderly, poor, or uneducated.  These lenders were promising loans that were “too good to be
true” and pressuring borrowers to sign contracts they did not understand.  On June 3,  2003,
Governor Mark Sanford signed the South Carolina High Cost and Consumer Home Loan
Act, which protects consumers from unconscionable lenders and loan practices.   The law
takes effect January 1, 2004.

Flipping
The law bans “flipping”  within 42 months of an existing loan without providing the borrower with a net
tangible benefit. Each time a loan is flipped, it strips the home of equity wealth in the form of high fees.

Points and Fees Charged On A High Cost Loan
If refinancing with the same lender, points or fees cannot be charged. If financing or refinancing with a
different lender, points or fees over 2.5% cannot be financed.

Credit Insurance
Financing prepaid, single premium life, disability, or unemployment insurance is prohibited in all home loans
beginning January 1, 2005. Only credit insurance paid on a monthly basis will be permitted beginning
January 1, 2005. This is an important key element, since single premium credit insurance policies, when
added into the loan and not disclosed, inflate a mortgage by thousands of dollars.

Prepayment Penalties
Prepayment penalties are not permitted on loans of $150,000 or less. Prepayment penalties frequently
surprise borrowers who attempt to pay off a loan before the scheduled date through refinancing or other
means. The prepayment penalty would require the borrower to pay an unexpected fee to refinance or may
prevent a borrower who otherwise qualifies from being able to refinance if desirable or needed.

Special Disclosure Requirements for Manufactured Housing
Disclosures regarding the material terms of the loan must be given 48 hours prior to finalizing the loan
closing. If the terms of the loan change, a new disclosure must be given.
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PREDATORY LENDING

Here’s a quick look at some of the key measures in the new law.  (For a brief history of this legislation, log on
to the SCDCA website at www.state.sc.us/consumer and click on the ‘Predatory Lending Bill History’ link.)



Balloon Payments
Balloon payments are prohibited under the new law.  In this type payment schedule, the borrower would have
low monthly payments, but then a large “balloon payment” would come due a few years later.  If the borrower
did not have the money for the payment (which could be double, or even triple the usual payment), the lender
would foreclose on the home.

Mortgage Broker Responsibility
Under the new law, the mortgage broker must work in the “best interest” of the borrower. The broker must
act as an agent of the borrower.  If the broker acts as an agent of any other party in the mortgage transaction,
it must be disclosed to the borrower.

Mandatory Counseling on a High Cost Loan
Anyone seeking to borrow money at a higher-than-market interest rate must attend a free credit counseling
session to assist the borrower in understanding the material terms of the loan. The counselor will also provide
information on the advisability of the loan transaction and its appropriateness for the borrower. Additionally,
the borrower’s “credit score” is included on the form. The credit score is a number between 300 and 850 that
lenders use to give credit and at what cost. A higher credit score—in the 700’s or 800’s –means that the
borrower could get “prime” loans at lower rates; a low score means that the borrower qualifies only for
“subprime” loans.  Knowing the credit score can help the borrower negotiate a better loan.

Home Repair Loans
Protects consumers who enter into home repair loans by mandating both the  homeowner and contractor
are named on any checks issued. The consumer will have the ability to refuse to endorse a check for incomplete
work or work  that was never started. Note:  Does not include money for a new home construction loan or a
purchase money loan for a home.

Title Lenders
Limits have been placed on lenders who make loans on car titles. The annual rate may still be 300%, but the
amount owed may not be renewed beyond six times.  In addition, the borrower now has six additional
months to pay off the debt with no new interest added.

HOW TO AVOID A PREDATORY LOAN
þ Always shop around.
þ Ask questions.
þ If you don’t understand the terms of the loan, talk to someone you trust to
        review the document  for you.
þ Don’t trust ads promising “no credit, no problem.”
þ Ignore high-pressure sales tactics.
þ Don’t take the first loan you are offered.
þ Remember that a low monthly payment isn’t always a deal; look at the cost of the loan.
þ Be wary of promises to refinance the loan to a better rate in the future.


