Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Department is currently working at a limited capacity onsite. You can file a complaint and submit applications for licensing online.  Filings you do not wish to make, or that are not available, online should be submitted via mail for processing.  

Department staff is available to assist with any questions at (800) 922-1594 (toll free in SC) or 803-734-4200 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding State holidays. You can also email general questions to scdca@scconsumer.gov.

For COVID-19 resources for businesses and consumers, visit the COVID-19 Resources page.

Physical Fitness Service Providers

The South Carolina Physical Fitness Services Act requires that all businesses offering physical fitness services in the State file with the S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs for a physical fitness Certificate of Authority. "Physical fitness services"means facilities or services of health or exercise centers, clubs, studios, or classes; health spas; weight control centers, clinics, or studios; figure salons; tanning centers; and athletic or sport clubs. 

The initial filing fee is $50.00 per location/center.  Physical fitness Certificates of Authority expire each year on December 31.  The annual renewal period is November 1 to December 31.  The renewal filing fee is $50 per location/center.

*Please note the Department's new physical address is 293 Greystone Blvd., Ste. 400 | Columbia, SC | 29210*
**Mailings may still be sent to PO Box 5757 | Columbia, SC | 29250-5757**

Law

Licensing Instructions and Forms

Sample Documents

Disciplinary Actions

Docket No. 0234

Docket No. 0426