Ditch the Pitch
You can file a complaint and submit applications for licensing online. Filings you do not wish to make, or that are not available, online can be submitted via mail for processing.
Department staff is available to assist with any questions at (800) 922-1594 (toll free in SC) or 803-734-4200 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, exclusing State holidays. You can also email general questions to email@example.com.
The Mortgage Broker Act requires that all businesses offering mortgage brokerage services, includes loan correspondents, table-funding and independent contractor (third party) loan processors and underwriters, in the State file with the S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs using the NMLS. The current Initial Filing Fee is $750. Renewal Fee is $550. NMLS processing fees are not included.
All licensees and new applicants must submit all filings through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS). Additional instructions for the NMLS can be found at the NMLS Resource Center.
A recent change in South Carolina's Mortgage Lending Act and Mortgage Broker Act goes into effect September 16, 2017. For information, see our press release (PDF).
If you submit your application before midnight on September 15, 2017, you will have to comply with existing requirements including:
Taking the South Carolina state-specific test
Providing a state criminal background check
If you submit your application after midnight on September 15, 2017, you will need to complete three hours of pre-licensing education. However, you will NOT have to (1) take South Carolina state-specific test, or (2) provide a state criminal background check.
*Please note the Department's new physical address is 293 Greystone Blvd., Ste. 400 | Columbia, SC | 29210*
**Mailings may still be sent to PO Box 5757 | Columbia, SC | 29250-5757**
**NOTE: Completed Mortgage Logs are due by March 31, 2023.**
*When opening the Excel file, you must choose "Save As" and save it to your computer.