Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Department is currently working at a limited capacity onsite. You can file a complaint and submit applications for licensing online.  Filings you do not wish to make, or that are not available, online should be submitted via mail for processing.  

Department staff is available to assist with any questions at (800) 922-1594 (toll free in SC) or 803-734-4200 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding State holidays. You can also email general questions to

For COVID-19 resources for businesses and consumers, visit the COVID-19 Resources page.

Prepaid Legal Services Act

Prepaid Legal Representative Renewal Applications will be accepted from August 1 through October 1 of each year.  Applications can be submitted through October 1st using our online system.


The Prepaid Legal Services Act requires that all companies selling prepaid legal services plans in South Carolina to be registered with the Department of Consumer Affairs. Individuals selling plans must be appointed by the company and file through the company to the Department of Consumer Affairs. The company filing fee is $800.00 annually and $40.00 annually for individuals.

The renewal period for the Prepaid Legal Services Company begins February 1 and ends on March 1 each year.

The renewal period for Prepaid Legal Representatives begins on August 1 and ends on October 1. Individuals who file as new representatives during the renewal period will be filing for the new filing year.

Applications for both representatives and companies can be filed online

*Please note the Department's new physical address is 293 Greystone Blvd., Ste. 400 | Columbia, SC | 29210*
**Mailings may still be sent to PO Box 5757 | Columbia, SC | 29250-5757**


Licensing Forms

Annual Renewal of Registered Companies

Companies selling prepaid legal service plans must renew annually from February 1 to March 1 by submitting the following:

  • Prepaid Legal Services Plan Application for new or renewal Certificate of Registration
  • $800 Filing Fee, made payable to the S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs
  • Current Certificate of Good Standing from the S.C. Secretary of State's Office
  • Bond Continuation Certificate or Statement from Bond Co.

Annual Renewal of Appointed Representatives

Prepaid Legal Services Representatives appointments must be renewed annually from August 1 to October 1 by the Company. Renewal of appointments is $40.00 per representative.

User Guides

Using the online filing system (PDF)

Prepaid Legal renewal filing instructions (PDF)